Roasted Potatoes

BBQ SoycurlsPotatoes can get ~ mmm ~ boring if you have them the same way over and over again.  There is a simple way to mix things up a bit, though.  When you roast potatoes, you gain quick control of 2 interest points.  First, their texture – will you bake them until they are crispy, or just until they are cooked through, or somewhere in between?  Second, their seasonings – and the sky’s the limit here – plain, lemony, Cajun, Italian, Indian, spicy….use your imagination!  I’m going to give you my go-to version here.

Hubby teased me when I said I was beginning this blog.  He said, “How are you going to share recipes?  Do you even USE recipes?”  I just looked at him with my mouth hanging open….because he’s there SO often (cough, cough) when I cook.  But then I laughed, because he’s partially right.  I used to watch my mother cook with a little of this and a little of that, going strictly “by feel.”  I thought I’d never learn to do that.  Well, evidently it is in the genes, because I go “by feel” when I create a recipe – and sometimes coming up with correct measures later can be a challenge!  Roasted Potatoes are one of my “by feel” recipes every time I make them.  I’m going to challenge you to step outside of your comfort zone this time and try your hand at adding seasonings “by feel.”  Hey, the worst that can happen is that you need to put salt and seasoning shakers on the table to add more, because unless you have a really heavy hand can you really over-season chunks of potatoes?

Though this recipe is written to make a cookie sheet full, it can easily be cut in half or less, but it would still be a good idea to use a cookie sheet.

  • 5 lbs. potatoes, cut into pieces – smaller pieces bake faster and can have more crispy-on-the-outside (or use baby potatoes and cut into wedges)
  • olive oil – 2-4 T. is plenty
  • Italian seasoning – just enough to have nice flecks on all of the potatoes
  • salt
  • onion powder
  • garlic powder

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  Place potatoes in a large bowl.  Pour olive oil over them and toss until everything is even coated.  You want just enough olive oil to coat things well – not only to help the spices cling, but to keep the potatoes from sticking forever to your cookie sheet!  Sprinkle seasonings over the mixture and toss again until well coated.  Spread out onto a large cookie sheet that has edges.  Bake for 30-60 minutes, depending on how crispy you like your potatoes.  Serve with ketchup or barbeque sauce.

 Variation: Choose from a selection of large chunks of onion, turnips, sweet potatoes, cauliflower, whole baby carrots, etc., – or dice/chunk up some gluten pieces, seitan, or other meat substitute – and toss with the potatoes.

Leave a Reply

