Chicken-Style Seasoning

Becoming a vegan can be a HUGE decision fraught with difficulties as you learn just how to fix good food in a new way.  It is easier now than it was 16 years ago, between increased availability of vegan cookbooks and the marvelous advantage of the internet.  Each person who takes the step to change their diet – in whatever increments they choose – stands on the shoulders of those who have come before who have already figured out some of the difficulties.  We learn from them and, hopefully, pass that information on to others, as well as anything new we have learned.

When my kids were diagnosed with allergies to dairy, my life “ended” suddenly ~ at least as I knew it!  I had to find out now how to cook without dairy (and other things that they couldn’t have.)  A cookbook that saved my family’s taste buds was “Whole Foods for Whole People” by Lucy Fuller (which Amazon says is temporarily out of stock.)  If I could only have gleaned ONE recipe from it, I would have to choose this one that I share with you today.  With this single mix by my side, I have invented countless recipes and replaced bouillon cubes, broth, etc., in umpteen dishes.

I give you…..Chicken-Style Seasoning.  If you have used McKay’s Chicken-Style Seasoning, you can replace it with this (although you may need an extra 1/2 tsp. per cup of water by comparison.)  Oh, and I recommend you make at least a double batch to save time.  Believe me, you’ll use it up!  Especially if you keep checking back to this blog for any new recipes that I post.  I use it regularly.

Chicken-Style Seasoning

  • 1 c. nutritional yeast flakes (some people call it brewer’s yeast, but make sure you get nutritional yeast – and certainly not baking yeast!)
  • 2 T. salt
  • 2 T. onion powder
  • 1 T. celery salt
  • ½ tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 tsp. sweet paprika
  • 1 tsp. Italian seasoning
  • 1 ½ T. dried parsley flakes (stir in last)

Pulse in blender all but the parsley flakes, very briefly.  (You may use a food processor, but it won’t become a powder as easily.)  Stir in the parsley flakes and store in an airtight container in a cool place.

Use 1 1/2 tsp. in a cup of water to make a broth or to replace 1 bouillon cube when making soup.  This is fantastic on popcorn, too!

23 thoughts on “Chicken-Style Seasoning

  1. Now I am curious what is in McKay’s!! Thanks, Pixie. I do enjoy the pictures along with the commentary. Keep them coming! On vacation in SC from cooking but this time off will end and you have given me new things to try. TJ

    • They may have changed the recipe, but when I quit using it, it contained lactose. I liked this recipe just as well, if not better, and it was cheaper! 🙂

      • Brewer’s yeast is definitely different. I bought it the very first time I needed nutritional yeast in a recipe and it was horrible. It was very grainy like sand, not flaky, and tasted nothing like nutritional yeast. I do not recommend it.

        • Ewwie! That would have been a terrible surprise. 😛 I couldn’t find nutritional yeast once upon a time (this was years ago) and I bought a canister of brewer’s yeast. It was darker in color and slightly different in flavor, but it was still flaky and worked okaaaaay for making “chicken-style seasoning.” But I imagine there are different versions of it around, too. Best to stick with nutritional flakes over all.

  2. Please look for hidden sources of MSG in those season blends that you purchase.
    I agree with mixing up your own batch of seasoning – you can control the salt and other flavorings and make your cooking truly your own as well as healthier.

  3. Found you on internet as I search to change my diet to Vegan. I cannot find McKay’s Chicken Seasoning locally, and I’m looking for ways to change my eating habits. Look forward to hearing from you. ~ Peggy in Texas

    • This recipe can be used in place of McKay’s. I prefer a little stronger flavor, so I use 1 1/2 tsp. instead of 1 tsp. in soups, etc. Start out with what the recipe calls for and adjust to your preferences. Blessings on changing your diet! It’s so worth it!

  4. Thanks for sharing this chicken style seasoning recipe. McKays “promotes” no MSG, but all of the ingredients for MSG are in this products, simply listed separately. The raw ingredients for MSG ARE in this product! VEGANS BEWARE. Your recipe above is a MUCH healthier option!

    • I tend to get the cheap stuff from Walmart (5th Season) since I haven’t found an organic one yet. It’s kinda vague. It says, “Spices ( including thyme and oregano.) Well! Now, THAT’S a big help, isn’t it? It smells wonderful and likely also contains basil and a little rosemary. I don’t know what else to tell you. I’m sorry.

    • I use some Marmite (usually in the European/English area of the international food aisle in the grocery store), or Vegex paste. A little goes a long way. In a huge pot of soup I only use a teaspoon or two. I use it in onion dip, too.

  5. The sodium level in McKay’s is far too high. I remember it being 33% or higher– not healthy. Vegans can get hypertension from this seasoning alone.

      • Sodium (a.k.a. salt) is a key contributor to to high blood pressure (hypertension) for many people. What you may see are comments that the issue many is not the salt they add. Most of the sodium in many people’s diet comes not from the salt shaker, but the sodium that you get in many pre-processed or packaged products.

        For example, what has more sodium; a single serving package of Ruffle’s potato chips or a slice of Brownberry 12 Grain bread? It might surprise you to find that the bread has just as much as the potato chips! And a single Joseph’s “Heart Friendly” oat bran & stone ground whole wheat pita bread may be only 60 calories and very low fat, but has twice the sodium of the potato chips. I’m not knocking either Brownberry or Joseph’s products, just using them as examples of the hidden sodium many people do not think about.

        If you are trying to control blood pressure, then typically working to limit sodium, but also getting adequate levels of potasium in your diet, is important for many people.

        • I agree with Cheerfully Vegan. There are many studies that show clearly that salt isn’t the cause of hypertension, but once you have hypertension it is important to watch your sodium intake. Just as sugar (I use the term broadly) has virtually nothing to do with causing type II diabetes (which is actually caused by excess fat in the diet, and subsequently in the bloodstream, which blocks the insulin receptors in our cells much like chewed up gum in a lock would block the key), but sugar intake is extremely important to watch once a person HAS type II diabetes. Salt does not affect hypertension as quickly or as drastically as sugar affects diabetes, but if you have either one, it’s important to watch your diet. Salt, like sugar, is important in our diets, but the truth is that we do get a lot more than we need in the typical “western” diet. And just as there are different types and qualities of sugar, so there are different types and qualities of salt. Suggest we do our research. Google can be our friend (or enemy) depending on how wise we are. 🙂

  6. Pingback: Lentil Lasagna with Cashew Parmesan – craplikeachamp

  7. Pingback: Lentil Haystacks – craplikeachamp

Leave a Reply

