Molasses Cookies

I’m going to add a fun recipe today.  Not only because everybody needs some fun in their dietary life, but because I already have a picture taken of these cookies!  (It seems one of my children shared an illness with me and cooking something new to photograph for a post is just a little out of my comfort zone today.)

Molasses cookies are a favorite for my husband and a couple of my sons.  It was vital that I find a way to make a vegan version, even if I’m not fond of molasses cookies.  (I suppose that keeps me from eating many.  I may be on to something here….)  I pulled out my Land O’ Lakes Cookie Collection a few years ago and set to work.  Fortunately, they were already lower in fat than most of the other recipes in their book (but hey, what do you expect – they are selling butter!)  It didn’t take too much tweaking to come up with a solid recipe.  These make a dark, thin cookie with plenty of flavor, and if you like a super crispy cookie, bake them the longer time listed.

There are some important things you should know, just in case you like to tinker with recipes like I do.  (I can’t seem to leave new ones alone – sometimes that’s a good thing, but sometimes it spells disaster!)

~The original recipe called for “light” molasses, but I’ve never seen such a thing.  I thought I could make it lighter another way.  Nope.  #1 – Don’t substitute honey for any of the molasses.

~  Most of my low-fat cookies need one single “magic” ingredient to come off the cookie sheet easily.  However, these won’t spread well or brown correctly if you use it with these.  #2 – Don’t use parchment paper on the cookie sheets.

~ If you are in a hurry, do not make these cookies!  #3 – Do NOT skip the refrigeration step.  You will fail at rolling the balls out and just have to lick cookie schtick off of your palms instead.  Now, if your goal is to just eat cookie dough – well, that’s up to you!  🙂

~ If you like really large molasses cookies you will need to make a change.  #4 – For larger cookies, place them plenty far apart.  These babies spread like crazy!

Molasses Cookies

  • 1 c. evaporated cane juice crystals or sugar
  • 1/2 c. (1 stick) Earth’s Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks, softened (these contain no trans fats)
  • 1/2 c. unsulfured molasses
  • 1 1/2 tsp. Ener-G egg replacer powder
  • 1/4 c. + 2 T. non-dairy milk
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. salt
  • 2 1/4 c. white whole wheat flour* or w.w. pastry flour (*This is spring wheat flour that is sweeter and whiter that typical whole wheat flour.  I use King Arthur’s or Trader Joe’s brands.)
  • sugar for rolling

In a large bowl, combine evaporated cane juice crystals, “butter,” and molasses until smooth.  Stir in egg replacer powder.  A couple of tablespoons at a time, stir in the non-dairy milk.  This keeps the batter from separating.  Add baking soda and seasonings, beating to mix well.  Next stir in the flour.  Cover and refrigerate until firm – at least 2 hours.

Heat oven to 350°.  Shape rounded teaspoonfuls of dough into 1-inch balls.  (This seems small, but they spread way out.)  Roll in sugar.  Place 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheets.  Bake for 10-12 minutes, or until slightly firm to the touch.  Remove immediately.

Makes about 4 1/2 dozen cookies.

Leave a Reply

