General Tso’s Broccoli and Tofu

I have fallen in love with General Tso’s sauce!  Yes, it is bottled, and no, I haven’t figured out how to make it myself.  Which may be part of why I love it so much.  It’s easier.  We all like easier, don’t we?  (Addendum ~ necessity is the mother of invention, so I eventually made my own.  See that recipe here.)

I have 2 brands of General Tso’s sauce that I’ve used and like equally as well ~ Iron Chef’s (15 oz.) and Mikee’s (20 oz.).  Iron Chef’s is probably easier to find in the International section of your grocery store.  I scored major points by finding it in a close-out store at a fabulous price!  I was hooked.  My married daughter and I bought every bottle in the store.  🙂  I kept my eye out for the next kind that might show up – and that’s when I found Mikee’s.  Watch the ingredients label on other brands, because some contain oyster something-or-other and some have corn syrup.

Note:  The picture depicts a double batch with the larger amount of broccoli.  (Remember, folks, I’m feeding two teenaged boys!)

This takes less than an hour from start of rice to completion – and some of that time I spent writing this (and the rest I typed while I ate since everybody else was gone tonight.)  To speed things up even more, you can buy raw broccoli pieces already cut up.

General Tso’s Broccoli and Tofu

  • 2 c. uncooked brown rice
  • 1 lb. water-packed tofu
  • 1 T. oil (I prefer extra virgin olive oil)
  • Bragg’s Liquid Aminos
  • 1 onion (the size of your onion depends on how much you like onion)
  • 6-8 c. (or more!) raw broccoli (2 medium broccoli crowns are about 6 c.) – you can use some cauliflower, as well, but the broccoli makes a more attractive dish
  • 1 T. olive oil (opt.)
  • water
  • General Tso’s sauce (Iron Chef or other brand – at least 15 oz.)

First begin cooking your rice according to package instructions.  (I use about 2 T. less water per cup of rice than most packages call for and less than 1 tsp. of salt per cup of rice.  I always make extra and keep it in the refrigerator or freezer for quick use later in the week.)  If the rice finishes before everything else, just stir it, push it to the side or back of the stove, and leave the lid on until serving time.

Dice tofu into 1″x1″x1/2″ pieces (approximately).  Heat 1 T. oil in a frying pan for a brief time at medium heat.  Toss tofu in the oil until fairly evenly coated.  Zig-zag the Bragg’s across the tofu about 8 passes (each zig and each zag is one pass) across the pan.  Stir the tofu again to distribute the liquid.  Turn the heat up to medium high.  Stir/Turn occasionally until tofu is browned.  (Tofu gets heavier as it browns causing the browned side to want to stay down, so if you see a lot of little white squares of tofu staring up at you after a while, you need to flip them over individually.)

While tofu is cooking, saute the onion and oil in another frying pan or dutch oven (you may use water instead of as much oil, but watch it carefully so that it doesn’t burn, adding more water as necessary.)  Cut up broccoli into bite-sized pieces and toss in with the onion.  If the onion starts to brown, turn the heat off until you are finished cutting up the broccoli.  Drizzle in 1-2 T. more water and cover to steam, stirring often. You may need to add more water as it cooks so that they don’t burn on the bottom – but just enough to steam the veggies, not boil them.

Continue cooking the tofu until lightly browned (a lid will speed the process once the liquid has boiled off) and the broccoli until fork tender.  When the broccoli is near completion, remove the lid to allow the remaining drizzled-in water to escape.  (If left in, it will water down the sauce.  For some reason, the broccoli holds the water hidden until the sauce hits it if you don’t do this step.)  Toss together in largest pan and pour General Tso sauce over it all according to taste.  (I like plenty so that it soaks into the rice some.

Serve rice on individual plates and cover with the vegetable mixture.

Makes a medium frying pan full.  (I can’t gauge serving sizes of this, because of the magnitude of my boys’ appetites!)

One thought on “General Tso’s Broccoli and Tofu

  1. Pingback: General Tso’s Sauce | Cheerfully Vegan

Leave a Reply

