Sweet and Savory Walnut-Olive Spread

The weather suddenly decided it’s summer ~ and it’s too hot to cook.  (Hey, going from chilly to very warm in a short time makes me whine about cooking!)  I thought maybe cold sandwiches would work for a change from salads of varying types.  I didn’t want anything typical, boring, or mundane, though, since my crew isn’t marvelously thrilled by sandwiches to begin with ~ except my son-in-law, bless his easy-to-cook-for heart!

Considering the fact that many vegan-spread recipes I already had on hand contained beans and/or bread crumbs (which I needed to avoid this time for allergy-sake), I went searching.  I started looking online (what a marvelous resource!) and found this recipe.  But I didn’t have any limes or fresh parsley.  Rats.  (I did have lemons…does that count?)  I decided to make it anyway and use the lemons to replace the lime juice.  They’re similar, right?

Well…it was kinda plain, even with the lemon juice.  I didn’t want to throw it out ~ and serving it “as is” was tantamount to doing the same thing ~ just a few days later when nobody touches as leftovers.  I started throwing things in that might “fix” it.  Some of them might seem a bit unorthodox, but what emerged was pretty tasty!

This is a thick spread.  It would work well on celery, crackers, or bread ~ or in a lettuce wrap!  My favorite way was on celery.

Stay tuned…there will be 2 more sandwich spreads coming in the next couple of days!

Sweet and Savory Walnut-Olive Spread

  • 1 c. walnuts, soaked 2-4 hours (if for only 2 hours, change the water once or twice to speed the process up a bit)
  • 2/3 c. pitted black olives
  • 1 carrot, finely grated
  • 2 T. minced sweet onion
  • 1 T. dried cranberries
  • 2 T. nutritional yeast
  • 2 T. almond butter
  • 1/4 tsp. dillweed
  • 1 T. fresh lemon juice
  • 1 tsp. maple syrup (opt., but it really gives a deep note of flavor)

Place all ingredients in a food processor and process until everything is well combined.  Scrape the sides often to keep things moving, as it’s very thick.  Don’t process so long that the walnuts become walnut butter, but long enough to make the cranberries turn into little pieces or flecks.

2 thoughts on “Sweet and Savory Walnut-Olive Spread

    • Honestly, I don’t think I’ve ever paired the two before! 😀 The maple syrup was an after thought. I was tasting it again while it was still in the food processor and it just NEEDED something. (The cranberries were the 1st thing I added that way.) A light-bulb went off and I went looking for the maple syrup. It was exactly what it needed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

