Vegan Potato Salad

Both my mother and mother-in-law were good cooks.  I learned much from both of them.  (I don’t think my mother used very many written recipes, but just tossed and tasted.  I used to watch her in awe, thinking I’d never be able to do such a thing!  Apparently, it is passed on genetically, activated when you reach a certain level of time spent cooking, because my daughter and I now do this, too!)  This post is actually a combo of both of these fabulous cooks’ versions of potato salad, only veganized, of course.

My mother-in-law always added sliced green olives to her potato salad.  (Now, I had never been, and still am not, a fan of those little buggers ~ except in potato salad, where I love them.)  She also used sliced cucumber, but my mom diced up little sweet gerkin pickles or her own bread-and-butter pickles into her version.  (I’m a little lazier than mom, so I make use of sweet relish instead.)

I make plenty of this while I’m at it!  Not only does everybody love it and, therefore, eat lots of it, but if I’m going to mess around with boiling and cooling potatoes, I might as well do the whole 5-lb. bag and be done with it.  Then if there is any left from the first day, I have leftovers for lunch the next…which are duly “fought” over by everybody.  (Now you know why I make so much to begin with!)  For those of you who aren’t feeding an army, take this to a potluck or family gathering…or…decrease the recipe as desired.

Actually, this isn’t technically a measured recipe…it’s more of a rule-of-thumb to go by.  When my daughter, K, makes it for her hubby, she adds more green olives than I do, because she loves them in many things.  (In fact, K made the pictured salad and it is her version.)   If my family needs more raw veggies in their day, or I want to stretch the salad even farther than normal, I add extra cucumber and onion.  Personalize it and make it your own.  My moms would be so proud!  🙂

Potato Salad

  • 5 lbs. potatoes (don’t use russet potatoes, they are too grainy), peeled and cut up into large-bite-sized pieces
  • 1-2 cucumbers, peeled, quartered, and sliced
  • 1/4 c. give-or-take of sweet relish
  • chopped onion to taste
  • small jar of green olives, sliced – or more
  • 1 c. or more Vegenaise with some mustard stirred in to make it creamy yellow
  • salt to taste

Cook diced potatoes in salted water until just barely soft enough for a fork to pierce.  (They will continue cooking as they cool, so you don’t want them mushy, or your salad will be paste.)  Drain and place in a bowl until cool enough to put in the refrigerator to chill thoroughly.  (If you are in a hurry, spread the potatoes onto a large cookie sheet to cool.)

When potatoes are chilled, mix with remaining ingredients.  If possibly, chill for an hour or two to meld flavors.

Marvelous served with baked beans, sliced tomatoes, and watermelon!

2 thoughts on “Vegan Potato Salad

  1. My mom makes amazing potato salad…all filled with mayonnaise and other kinds of things that would turn my stomach LOL I am definitely going to try this. It’s just the perfect summer snack. Or meal for someone who eats small meals frequently throughout the day like I do! And I love olives!!! sweatpantsandsuperfoods.com

Leave a Reply

