Chicky Strips

I can tell it’s summer.  Not only am I not doing as much cooking and creating of new recipes, but I’m not spending as much time on the computer, either.  I want outside!  I want to go swimming!  I want to play hookey from all my tasks!  (Think Spring fever, only worse.)  So, if you don’t see quite as many posts as in the past, you’ll know it’s because I am off having fun instead.  😀  Actually, this post might not have made it today if my swimming plans hadn’t fallen through.

Last night I wanted a simple supper.  I made a huge salad with lots of add-ins.  One of the add-ins needed to be something hearty to make the salad a meal for the guys.  I chose to make these Chicky Strips.  Now ordinarily these end up hot on top of a stir-fry dish, but if cooled a bit they make a marvelous, chewy, salty “chicken” for a salad!  (Although I did see hubby just eating them plain…and other family members ~ who shall remain nameless ~ snitch them from the frying pan while they cook.)

This recipe is similar to my Soy Curl “Chicken” Pieces, but it takes things a step further to obtain a new texture and purpose.  It also increases the amount made, because they tend to disappear fast!  I just love the variations available with soy curls!  For more information on Soy Curls, please see this recipe ~ BBQ Soy Curls.

This may look like a lot of food in the frying pan, but as they brown, they begin to cook down into a smaller amount.

Chicky Strips

  • 6 c. soy curls
  • 2 c. water
  • 2-4 T. Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, depending on how salty you want the finished product
  • 3+ T. chicken-style seasoning, again depending on the saltiness you wish to obtain

Heat water, Bragg’s, and chicken-style seasoning in a large frying pan.  Add the Soy Curls and continue heating over medium-high heat, tossing well and often to rehydrate.  Continue cooking, not stirring the curls as often to allow them to brown.  Cook until most of the soy curls are toasty browned in places.  They won’t get completely browned unless you decrease the recipe significantly so that they can be spread out thinner on the pan.  If they get too browned, they become tough.

Serve hot with stir fry, or serve cool/cold on salads.

5 thoughts on “Chicky Strips

  1. I totally hear you on needing to be outside soaking up the sun! After all, this is what we wait for all year! Soy Curls have won me over with their addictiveness. I wasn’t entirely sold at first, but then the Smoky Soy Curls in Vegan Diner did me in. I have to try your chicken-style seasoning. It looks very tasty!

  2. Pingback: Sauerkraut Special | Cheerfully Vegan

Leave a Reply

