Help for Outside Pets

So, apparently summer is a deterrent to my blog!  No new recipes.  A boring repeat of food on my family’s plates.  No ideas being generated.  Hmmm.  My apologies, followers and family!  Once I get a vacation, I’ll try to do better.

Meanwhile, our very large outdoor dog** has been struggling with the nasty summer biting, flying insects.  In a search about the internet, I found some interesting ideas.  He absolutely hates the typical aerosol sprays that we were putting on him and they didn’t work very well, or for very long.  What I ended up with is a modified version of a couple of different ideas.  The best thing??  It works!  The dog rarely has flies buzzing him and his ears aren’t all chewed up this year.  Yes!  And he has a healthier option to wear on his fur. A win-win situation.

I understand this will also work on horses, but since I don’t have any to try it on…you’ll have to let me know if it works.  🙂

Fly Spray

In a 16-oz or larger spray bottle (I picked one up at Target in the cleaning aisle), put in the following:

  • 1 inch of white vinegar
  • 1 inch of natural dishwashing soap (I used Trader Joe’s brand)
  • a few drops of tea tree oil
  • filtered water added to the 16-oz. mark

Shake well before each use.  Spray on animal whenever the flies are buzzing.  Repeat as necessary.

**Before anyone has a big hairy fit about my doggy living outside, let me assure you that he hates inside.  He, like his ancestors before him and his cousins the wolves and coyotes, loves the outdoors – rain, snow, etc.  He has a dog house, plenty of food and water, and enjoys his little life.  Besides…my daughter is allergic to him.

Leave a Reply

