The Well-appointed Kitchen

When I get home, I am going to kiss my husband, hug my children, pet the cat, and walk into my kitchen for a moment of silence.

I am visiting my now-bachelor son in sunny California.  He is in his 4th year of medical school ~ almost to the finish line!  He needed some good home cooking and some company due to life’s most difficult moments, so I hopped on a plane and came out.  Time for some mommy “magic.”  🙂

Mind you, I tried to plan ahead.  I brought recipes (that aren’t yet on this blog), a baggie of chicken seasoning (recipe on this blog), and a grocery shopping list.  What I couldn’t bring with me is my well-appointed kitchen!  I didn’t realize just how precious it is!  This week I have wanted to make some different things several times only to realize ~ the only large mixing bowl was in the frig full of watermelon ~ the frying pan wasn’t fit to be used ~ the mixer had walked away with his ex (along with many, many other pieces of kitchenware) and I had to make frosting by hand ~ the cake pan (that I bought in order to be able to make a birthday cake) still contained the cake, so granola bars were out of the question ~ cucumbers are much harder to peel with a knife than with the missing peeler ~ nuts can be chopped in the blender, albeit unevenly ~ and I’m sure I’m forgetting something.

I remembered during this process that many years ago I began methodically buying duplicates of my most-used cooking items to avoid this kind of frustration.  I actually have 5  9×13″ pans (1 glass) so that if one has a cake in it, I can still make a “meat”loaf and put an extra in the freezer or take to a potluck or a sick friend.  I have 1 enormous and 2 very large mixing bowls (with a back-up plastic cheapie in the back of a cupboard just in case which since I first posted this has now found it’s way to my son’s kitchen.)  I have a multitude of platters of different sizes, 1- and 2-quart serving bowls, spatulas, wooden spoons, nylon spoons and utensils, etc.  And there are still days when I look in my cupboards and find I really have used them all!!!  (On those days, you can’t fit another thing in my 2 frigs, either.  Remember, I told you I had hungry, hungry teenage boys.)

So, now you understand why I will need a moment of silent appreciation in my kitchen when I get home.  I have a new understanding of its worth.

(And I didn’t even mention the value of a well-stocked pantry!  You know ~ spices, seasonings, flours, rising agents, and the stuff you make sure you never run out of because you use it constantly.)

It still isn’t perfect, but my son’s kitchen has been slightly upgraded to a better situation suitable to a busy bachelor.  There is onion and garlic powder, basil, and Italian seasoning there, as well as a vegetable peeler, some cheap wooden spoons, and a new lightweight frying pan.  If he was more of a cook, I am sure there would be more items on his Christmas list for his kitchen…until then, I’m certain he will survive now.

So ~ what piece of kitchen equipment, cookware, or serving ware couldn’t you live without?

One thought on “The Well-appointed Kitchen

  1. You are a wonderful mom! But, then, you already know this.
    What piece could I not live without?…. My blender, my heavy bottomed pots, …. and my heavy wisks. I don’t want to live without any of it, please. 🙂

Leave a Reply

