Sauerkraut Special

A friend of mine went to her husband’s home country of Poland to visit his family.  She is vegetarian and I guess it was a challenge to eat at restaurants at times.  She told me about a dish her father-in-law had that sounded pretty tasty if it could be veganized.  It was full of sauerkraut, mushrooms, and various meats.  I thought it would be fun to give it a try.  Now, I love sauerkraut…if it’s well-rinsed.  If it’s full-strength, it is a little too much for me.  If you like it super strong, then go for it!  😀

I didn’t use a lot of different types of veggie “meat” substitutes here, though it was my intention to do so.  Unfortunately, when I reached for some veggie burgers to chop up for this, they were gone.  *sigh*  If no one has raided your supplies to fill their bellies, then toss in 2-3 different things ~ try soy curls made into chicky strips, soy burgers or crumbles, Tofurkey links, etc.

Sauerkraut Special

  • 1 large red onion, chopped
  • 8 oz. (or more!) portabella mushrooms, roughly chopped
  • 1 pkg. Tofurkey Italian ‘sausage’ links, sliced/diced
  • 4-6 c. frozen hash brown shreds, or shredded fresh potato (to be honest, I didn’t measure this…I just eyeballed about how much I wanted in the dish)
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 1/2 large jars of sauerkraut, rinsed (unless you like potent sauerkraut)

In a very large frying pan (mine was non-stick) saute the onion, mushrooms, Tofurkey links and potatoes in olive oil.  I didn’t measure the oil, because I just kept adding a bit as they cooked.  If it looked too dry – as if things were going to start sticking – I added a bit more.  Cover.  Cook until the links begin to brown and the onion softens well, stirring occasionally.  Toss in the sauerkraut and heat thoroughly.

Serve with soy sour cream, if desired.

9 thoughts on “Sauerkraut Special

  1. Delicious! Much like my family makes for New Year’s Day for good luck. Sounds to me, though, that your sauerkraut problem stems from the fact that you’re using canned. Try the fresh kind from the refrigerator section. So much more crisp and yummy!

  2. I had to check this out too before I continued my tour of the Virtual Vegan Potluck. This recipe is totally what I love; a real Pennsyltucky style vegan meal! If you ever want to try your hand at making your own sauerkraut, my folks shared their recipe and tips and I posted it on my blog last year: http://wp.me/p1GQWj-LR Thanks for the great ideas!

Leave a Reply

