Black Beans and Hominy

It has been a while since I posted.  I’ve made some new recipes, but failed to get adequate pictures of them to show you.  Last week I made an incredible soup on a night when I had to rush out the door to a meeting.  I was going to take a picture the next day during lunch leftovers.  Alas, I was struck down by a horrid flu and the soup went to waste with no decent picture being taken.  Apparently, I was the only one who loved the soup…except the dog, who got the old leftovers.  Such a waste.

Another day I made gluten-free pancakes that were very tasty!  Unfortunately, they were not photogenic and I was too hungry to fool with it.  I shall have to make a new batch soon and be more patient this time.

I did, however, find some photos of this dish a while ago that I took just in case I ever wanted to post the recipe, but not have to make the dish for supper that night.  I am so glad I did!!  Finally…something to post for you.

This is a great meal to make when you are in a big hurry to eat.  We like it served with cooked broccoli and sliced tomatoes for a simple meal.

Black Beans and Hominy

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Black Beans and Hominy

  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • extra virgin olive oil
  • 3 cans black beans, mostly drained
  • 2 cans hominy, drained
  • 1 can black olives, drained and sliced or quartered
  • salsa, soy sour cream, non-dairy cheese, all optional

Saute the onion in a bit of olive oil for a few minutes.  Add the beans with a bit of the liquid in which they were canned, hominy, and olives.  Heat to desired temperature.  Serve with salsa, soy sour cream, and/or non-dairy cheese.

This can be made ahead in the crockpot, too.  You don’t need any oil, unless you want it for flavor.  Stir together onions, beans, hominy, and olives.  Heat on very low temperature for 4-8 hours.  It will be ready when you get home, so supper can be on the table as soon as a veggie is ready to go with it.

Hint:  If you are really in a hurry, put the olives in a flat-bottomed container and use your potato masher to break them into small pieces.  They aren’t as cute that way, but families usually don’t care.  😉

4 thoughts on “Black Beans and Hominy

Leave a Reply

