Vegan Pumpkin Pie

Pumpkin Pie SliceYes, I may indeed be a few months late posting this recipe compared to the rest of the recipe-blogging world.  Pumpkin everything is supposed to be served in the fall, right?  During the holidays, however, I was much too hurried to spend time taking photos before the pies were devoured and life rushed on.  Now, though, with winter swirling mightily around the corners of my home, pumpkin pie seemed like the kind of hearty dessert breakfast that my family needed.

*whispered*  “Did she just say pie for breakfast??”  Yes!  Yes, I did!  When you eat a plant-based diet with loads of healthy things in your desserts, you can actually eat some of those desserts for breakfast.  Seriously, folks, have you looked at the ingredients list of your favorite cereals (even the health-food store brands?)  Trust me, this pie is no where near as sweet as most of those and full of more than just the highly refined grains found in them.  At least not the cereal my family prefer.  The healthy flake-type cereals languish in the back corners of the cereal cupboard, ignored completely unless I Pumpkin Pie-Wholeeat them.  Besides, shouldn’t breakfast be fun so that you want to get out of bed?  You want your children to eat a good-sized breakfast, since it’s the most important meal of the day.  I promise you, you won’t be hungry half-way through the morning when you eat a large slice of this along with some fresh fruit to start your day.  (My gluten-free crust is made with coconut oil and we top it with an amazing coconut cream topping, so I’m sure that adds to it’s long-lasting effects.)

This recipe is adapted from the cookbook Incredible Edibles by Eriann Hullquist.  I have attended a cooking school by this author and had a blast.  She had wonderful vegan ideas back when finding tasty recipes was not an easy thing.  I use my cookbook all the time, and it has notes penned all through it, not only from the class, but from my own experiments.  I highly recommend it for your own cookbook library.

The original recipe does not state what size pie pan this fits, or how many pies it makes.  I had to find that out on my own.  I own 9″ deep-dish pie plates.  A single recipe made enough for 1 of those deep-dish babies, plus a little child-sized pie pan that my daughter had at the time.  The next time I made it, I came equipped.  I had purchased extra pie plates so that I doubled the recipe and made 3 pies.  There, problem solved!  😉  I would imagine that a single recipe would make 2 non-deep-dish 8″ pies.  I will list both ingredients amounts so that you can choose how many pies to make according to your pans.

These pies keep very well in the refrigerator for several days.  (The one pictured has been kept 3 days.  The texture and shape are maintained.)  I have not tried freezing them, but imagine it would work well.

Pumpkin Pie – 8″ version – 2 pies

  • 1 1/2 c. non-dairy milk
  • 2/3 c. raw cashew pieces
  • 1 c. chopped dates (or flour-covered date pieces)
  • 1/3 c. cornstarch
  • 1/2 c. maple syrup
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 can (29 oz) or 2 cans (15 oz) pumpkin puree *

Pumpkin Pie – 9″ deep-dish version – 3 pies

  • 3 c. non-dairy milk
  • 1 1/3 c. raw cashew pieces
  • 2 c. dates, chopped (or use flour-covered date pieces)
  • 2/3 c. cornstarch
  • 1 c. maple syrup
  • 4 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 cans (29 oz) or 4 cans (15 oz.) pumpkin puree *

Preheat oven to 325°.

(If you do not have at least a 56-oz. blender and are using the larger recipe for 3 pies, it will not all fit in a single blenderful.  You will need to split it up.)

Blend cashews with half of the milk until very smooth.  Add the rest of the milk, dates, maple syrup, cornstarch, and flavorings and continue blending.  Pour into a mixing bowl.  Add the pumpkin puree and mix completely (my whisk does an amazing job, but you may wish to use an electric beater.)  Pour into unbaked pie shells and bake for 60 minutes.  Let cool before slicing.  Top with a vegan whipped topping.

*Note:  Canned pumpkin that is near it’s “best used by” date can be very hard, rather than a soft pureed texture.  (Yes, I found some languishing in the back of my pantry and thought it wouldn’t be an issue.)  Break this up and get rid of any lumps before stirring it into the blenderized mix, or you will have funny little pieces in your pie.

One thought on “Vegan Pumpkin Pie

Leave a Reply

