Cocoa-Banana Breakfast Cake (or Muffins)

Breakfast.  It can be so boring ~ so unhealthy ~ and so expensive.  Are you stuck in a rut?  Are you tired of paying an arm and a leg for boxed cereal that has little staying power and often little true nutrition?  I am going to start a series on make-ahead breakfast recipes to take the ho-hum out of mornings.  You’ll find yourself looking forward to breakfast!  You might even want to take a look at some of your current recipes and rethink the possibility of using them for a morning meal.  Of course, I always add some fresh fruit to the meal to round it out nutritionally.

Cocoa-Banana Breakfast Cake (or Muffins) 001Whether you have to eat gluten-free, or not, this breakfast cake will please you!  It was so exciting to put the first forkful into my mouth and taste how delicious it was.  The texture is moist and heavy like some decadent muffin that you might buy.  Mmmm.  In fact, if you prefer, you can make these into 24 muffins instead of a cake.  Extras can be popped into the freezer for future breakfasts if you aren’t going to devour them in the first 2-3 days.  If you want to add an extra level of deliciousness to your breakfast, make some coconut cream to put on top.  If you want a relatively healthy regular cake (albeit not a light one), toss a cup of chocolate chips in the batter and frost the thing!

Our family has a different sort of habit where cake is concerned.  When I was a teenager, I came out to breakfast one morning to discover we were out of cereal (except for my dad’s Wheaties that I totally rebelled against.)  We did, however, have some leftover chocolate cake on the counter.  I figured it couldn’t be all that different from the sugar bomb cereals my mom let me eat (tsk, tsk), so I served myself a piece in a bowl and poured milk over it.  Aaaaand, history was born.  I fell in love with cake in milk.  Hubby thought I was nuts until he finally tried it and was hooked.  lol  My kids never had cake at home served any other way and have been spreading the rebellious serving idea everywhere they can.  🙂  I think a few people may even have gotten hooked.

Bake this in a 9×13″ pan, or in 24 muffin cups, or even, I suppose in bread pans as banana bread (although I haven’t tested how long to bake it this way.)

Cocoa-Banana Breakfast Cake (or Muffins)

  • 3 2/3 c. oat flour (GF if necessary.  I process rolled oats in my blender to make flour.)
  • 1/3 c. coconut flour
  • 6 T. cocoa
  • 4 tsp. baking powder, sieved to remove lumps
  • 2 tsp. baking soda, sieved to remove lumps
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. salt
  • 1 T. Ener-G egg replacer powder (don’t mix with water)
  • 1/2 c. chopped pecans
  • 7 medium to large very ripe bananas (well speckled and soft at least)
  • 1 c. honey or other liquid sweetener (why I use honey)
  • 1/2 c. melted coconut oil
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 c. non-dairy milk

Preheat oven to 350°.  Whisk dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl, breaking up any cocoa lumps you find.  Mash the bananas in a separate mixing bowl ~ using a pastry blender works marvelously.  Stir/whisk in the remaining wet ingredients into the bananas.  With a rubber spatula, scrape the banana mixture into the dry ingredients.  Stir with a wooden spoon until no dry spots remain.  Scrape into a 9×13″ pan, or spoon into 24 muffin cups.  For the 9×13, bake 30-35 minutes.  For the muffins, bake 15-20 minutes.  Check with a toothpick inserted in the middle to see if they are done.  Cool on a cake rack in the pan.  Cool muffins for 10-15 minutes before removing them.

2 thoughts on “Cocoa-Banana Breakfast Cake (or Muffins)

Leave a Reply

